you're reading...
Uncategorized

Someone’s actually reading my blog

Last week, The writer, the reviser, the visualizer commented on one of my posts chose me to receive the Versatile Blogger Award. http://versatilebloggeraward.files.wordpress.com/2011/09/versatileblogger113.png

I must admit that I was a bit shocked to be receiving such an award, having only written a handful of posts. I think I was more shocked (thrilled!) that someone was reading what I wrote. This award will definitely inspire and motivate to keep writing, so that I can truly deserve such recognition. Thank you for that!

The rules of this nomination are as follows:

1. Thank the award-giver and link back to them in your post.
2. Share 7 things about yourself.
3. Pass this award along to 15 others.
4. Contact your chosen bloggers to let them know about the award.

I’m slowly contacting the blogs that I have selected. I am an RSS feed addict, so I have amassed quite a few over the past several years. Two of them are not actually blogs, but they are wiki-based newsletters that I rely on for information and inspiration (Full disclosure: I was the Managing Editor for these newsletters in days gone by, but they have grown and excelled way beyond what I did at the helm). I present them in three categories:

So, what 7 things can I tell you about myself? I think there are at least 7 things about myself in the following bulleted list:

  • I started my career as a technical writer, but suffered from major burnout after about 7 years. During career counseling, the tests showed that I should be a dictionary editor. Instead, I went on to be a development editor at a computer book publisher. (That is still my favorite job in my career.) I then became a technical editor at all subsequent jobs. I’m a really good technical editor, because I love what I do.
  • I took a week-long course about The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, based on Stephen Covey’s book of the same name. I took this early in my career, and it changed my life. I no longer work overtime on a regular basis (rarely ever, actually). I have a personal mission statement, which over the years has been boiled down to an acronym: PEP (passion, enthusiasm, persistence).
  • I really want to go back to school for a PhD. I loved school as a child, and as an adult (getting my Masters in technical communication one class at a time at night while working full time). I am pondering the idea of a PhD in Linguistics instead of Technical Communication.
  • I prefer working at large companies to small companies. I also prefer being an employee of said company, instead of a contractor. I like the “security” of a regular paychecks and excellent benefits. I know that I could do more of the work I love as a freelancer, but I don’t have the stomach (or sales mindset) for it. I’m lucky to have found my way to my ideal job in IBM, so I get the best of both worlds.
  • I love being a mentor and a teacher. I was voted “Most likely to be an English teacher” in my senior year of high school, and my BA is in English. (I love writing poetry, and now traditional Japanese-form haiku.). I will “retire” into my second career of being a college professor one day. Until then, I will continue to teach an online certificate course for STC on technical editing fundamentals with the uber-amazing Linda Oestreich.
Discussion

Comments are closed.

Tweet, tweet, tweet

IBM

I am a technical communicator at IBM. Although I will use my personal experiences to generate some ideas for blog posts, I will never speak as a representative of IBM or specifically about IBM and its processes. The postings on this site are my own and do not necessarily represent the positions, strategies or opinions of IBM.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

