STC Technical Communication Summit 2012

As I mentioned in my last post, I will be presenting at the STC Technical Communication Summit 2012.

As a preconference certificate course, I am presenting Technical Editing Fundamentals on Saturday and Sunday.

I also am participating in a new session called “Editing Evaluations,” on Monday morning. Participants sent samples of their editing to the evaluators, and we meet with them for 25 minutes in this session to discuss and evaluate their editing practices. I thoroughly enjoyed reviewing and evaluating a sample of editing that is from a remarkably different editing context than I have ever worked in. I look forward to meeting the editor. Fascinating, and fun!

My last presentation is a panel discussion on “Why Editors Are Still Relevant” where we will debate the changing role of editors in technical communication. I really hope that we get a good discussion going, debating about what challenges face editors today and where our role is headed in the future.

I have scanned the program and I have a few social media sessions and remote working sessions in my schedule, but the editing topic that I am most looking forward to is about the value and use of checklists.

Throughout the conference, I am going to try to tweet (@michellecorbin) about my experiences and little factoids (or “golden nuggets”) that I learn along the way. I’ll use the #stc12 hashtag for the conference, but I’ll also use the #techeditors hashtag when I feel it is of interest to technical editors.

If you will be there, please come and introduce yourself! I’d love to meet any readers of my technical editors blog.

I hope that I will discover many inspirations for future blog posts here, so that I can get back to writing here more regularly to combat some of the busy-ness that I spoke about last time.

This entry was posted in Career. Bookmark the permalink.